Jim Levett (74MD) is CEO of Presaj Inc., which has been awarded a $256,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to develop a system that identifies and reduces risk in high-impact surgical procedures. 

Scott Nau (78MD, 81R) retired in March from his nearly 41-year career as a pediatrician at Mercy Pediatric Clinic in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. 


Daniel C. Davis (88MD) was selected to be the musculoskeletal imaging trustee for the American Board of Radiology. He is currently a clinical professor of radiology at the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita and chief of radiology at the Robert J. Dole Department of Veterans Affairs. 

Sandra A. Murray (80PhD) was elected president of the American Society for Cell Biology. 


Jason Rexroth, (98MD) FACOG, FACS, opened the Iowa Women's Health Center and the Iowa Men's Health Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, in January 2022. 

Matthew Ruble (97MD) has been appointed chief medical officer of Discovery Behavioral Health, Inc., an expanding network of evidence-based mental health, substance use, and eating disorder treatment centers. 

Patricia Newland (97MD) was named president and chief executive officer of UnityPoint Clinic. 


Nicholas A. Ettinger, (09MD, 09 PhD) FAAP, assistant professor of pediatrics at the Baylor College of Medicine and a pediatric intensivist at Texas Children's Hospital in Houston, is a member of the executive committee of the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Critical Care. In this role, he was the lead author on a new national policy statement released in April titled, “Guidance for structuring a pediatric intermediate care unit.” 

Erin Shriver, MD, FACS (06R), clinical professor in the UI Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, was featured in the story, "The Bright Future of Thyroid Eye Disease," which appeared March 7 in the online journal Ophthalmology Times. 

Scott M. Truhlar, MD, FACR (03R, 04F), has been named president of the Iowa Medical Society. 


Saket Girotra, MD (11F, 12F), associate professor of internal medicine at University of Texas-Southwestern, authored a study in JAMA Network Open titled, “Association of COVID-19 Infection With Survival After In-Hospital Cardiac Arrest Among U.S. Adults.” 

Carolyn Harraway-Smith (93MD) was named chief medical officer at Annie Penn Hospital in Reidsville, North Carolina. 

In memoriam

Jerry Lee Case (60MD) of Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, died May 24. He served in the Navy Medical Corps Service and was stationed in Chu Lai, Vietnam, from 1965 through 1966. As a civilian doctor, he established a successful orthopedic practice in Wilmington, Delaware, that spanned 43 years. 

Elaine Demetroulis (97MD, 00R, 03F, 04F) of Kansas City, Missouri, a former interventional cardiologist in the UI Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, died April 28. Demetroulis was associated with the University of Iowa for more than 25 years, starting with medical school in the Carver College of Medicine. 

Jerry James Swaney (65MD) died July 1.  He served in the U.S. Army Medical Corps and as a clinical associate professor at Texas Tech University Health Science Center in El Paso, Texas, specializing in pediatric hematology and oncology. 

Dale Weber (64MD) died July 23. During his time in medical school, he received a fellowship to travel to Gabon, Africa, and work with Albert Schweitzer, PhD. He retired in 2011 after a 47-year career. 

Chester Caldwell Winter (46MD) of Worthington, Ohio, died May 3, one month before his 100th birthday. He served in the U.S. Army Medical Corps and achieved the rank of captain before his appointment as professor and director of urology at Ohio State University, where he developed a procedure called Winter’s shunt.