Michael Nelson (71MD) received a 2018 University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Service Award. He is a globally minded radiologist and professor at the University of Minnesota who has dedicated his career to advancing the teaching, research, and development of breast imaging to improve breast cancer detection worldwide.


John Toussaint (82MD) received the Cornell College Leadership and Service Award for his lifetime of work helping providers worldwide streamline their operations to deliver better patient care. He is founder and CEO emeritus of ThedaCare and CEO of the ThedaCare Center for Healthcare Value. He is also founding chair of the Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality and of the Wisconsin Health Information Organization, as well as the leader of the Partnership for Healthcare Payment Reform in Wisconsin.

Teri Wahlig (87MD), MBA, was named a 2018 Women of Influence Honoree for her impact on thousands of children’s lives as the CEO of ChildServe. After starting a career in neonatology, she was attracted to ChildServe’s mission to serve children with unique and ongoing medical needs.

John Zehr (89MD) is chief medical director for Cedar Valley Hospice and an emergency medicine physician at Waverly (Iowa) Health Center.


Eric Dippel (93MD, 96R) was appointed chief medical officer of American Vascular Associates, which focuses on the development, operational oversight, and revenue cycle management of vascular centers. He is also founder of the Vascular Institute of the Midwest.

Jane Edmond, MD (90F), is the founding chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Dell Medical School, which opened in 2016 at the University of Texas at Austin. She is also director of the Mitchel and Shannon Wong Eye Institute in Austin.

Christina Gurnett (98MD, 98PhD, 00R), professor of neurology at Washington University School of Medicine, was named director of the Division of Pediatric and Developmental Neurology and neurologist-in-chief at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Also a professor of orthopedic surgery and of pediatrics, her research program is focused on understanding the genetic basis of musculoskeletal and neurological disorders.

Robert Honkanen, MD (99F), was named chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Stony Brook University.

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, MD (91R), was elected to the Iowa Legislature and appointed to chair the Senate Human Resources Committee.


Jennifer Beaty (01MD) received a Teacher of the Year award at the Creighton University Surgery Residency Graduation. She has served as program director of the Creighton University Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship since 2009. Last year she moderated a panel discussing benign anorectal disease at the American College of Surgeons Clinical Congress.

Jill Melicher-Larson, MD (10F), is president of the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology.

Philip Polgreen, MD (00R, 02F, 04F), MPH, professor of internal medicine at the UI, was elected as a fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Joshua White (01MD) was named chief medical officer of Gifford Health Care, based in Randolph, Vermont. An emergency medicine physician, he serves as Gifford’s hospital division medical director in addition to his position as CMO.


Jessica Krochmal (02MD, 05R, 06F, 07F) has been named chair of pathology at Berkshire Medical Center in Pittsfield, Massachusetts.

Denise Martinez, MD (11R), has been named associate dean for cultural affairs and diversity initiatives in the UI Carver College of Medicine.

Rachel Mejia, DO (13R), UI clinical assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, was named a Clinical Reproductive Scientist Research Training (CREST) Scholar through the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, the Clinical Research Training Program at Duke University, and the American Society for Reproductive Medicine.

Share your news

We would love to hear from you. Send an alumni update to